SCO Campus Rhapsody presents SCO & SOTA: Beyond Music Concert

Singapore, 24 July 2015 (Friday) – As part of Singapore Chinese Orchestra’s (SCO) ongoing effort to promote arts development in Singapore, SCO collaborates with students from the Faculty of Music at School of the Arts Singapore (SOTA) to present a joint concert at the SOTA Concert Hall on 4 August (Tuesday) at 7.30pm.

Conducted by SCO Resident Conductor Quek Ling Kiong, SOTA Chinese Percussion Ensemble, SOTA Chinese Chamber Ensemble and SCO will jointly perform pieces such as New Rolling Walnuts rearranged by Quek Ling Kiong, Beautiful Jiangnan arranged by Qu Chun Quan, Phoon Yew Tien’s Variations on Singapura, Sui Li Jun’s Making Up the Numbers, Melodic Potpourri rearranged by Sim Boon Yew and Trains of Thoughts by Phang Kok Jun. In conjunction with SG50 celebrations, audience will also get to enjoy specially planned pieces such as Power Singapura and Variations on Singapura.

Two new compositions have been specially commissioned for this performance. Written by SOTA alumnus, audience will get to enjoy the world premiere of Sun Pingyu’s Witnesses of the Past and Koh Cheng Jin’s En Route.

Conductor: Quek Ling Kiong    Singapore Chinese Orchestra

Concert details:

SCO Campus Rhapsody: SCO & SOTA: Beyond Music Concert
Date: 4 August 2015, Tuesday
Time: 7.30pm
Venue: Concert Hall, School of The Arts
Ticketing: Register for free tickets via

Please contact Media Officers for more information, photographs and interviews.

Media Contacts

Toh Wei Lin
Executive (Marketing Communications)
DID: 6557 4037 / 8121 6966

Koh Mui Leng
Assistant Manager (Marketing Communications)
DID: 6557 4047 / 9833 0556