SCO’s Guest Conductor Chair Ku Pao-wen conducts SCO on the discovery of Treasures of Taiwan

Singapore, 7 February 2013 (Thursday) – Established Taiwanese conductor Ku Pao-wen, returns to conduct the SCO, as its appointed guest conductor chair, in a two-night Taiwanese-themed concert on 22 & 23 March.

Ku Pao-wen’s conducting style is known to be full of emotions. He was appointed as the Assistant Conductor of the SCO and conductor of the Singapore Youth Chinese Orchestra in November 2006. In August 2012, he was appointed as SCO’s Guest Conductor Chair. He is currently the Associate Professor in the Department of Music and Institute of Ethnic Music at the National Tainan University of Arts; and the President and Music Director of the Taiwan Philharmonic Chinese Orchestra which he founded in 2011. Ku Pao-wen learnt the violin and piano since young. He started learning Chinese music at the age of 12, and has won many national awards for his accomplishments in pipa. He was admitted into the National Taiwan University of Arts, Chinese Culture University and Graduate Institute of Musicology, and the National Taiwan University of Arts with pristine results. He was also awarded a full scholarship to pursue a Master of Arts in Lindenwood University, USA. He went on to further his studies in Orchestral Conducting under Donald Portnoy at the University of South Carolina, and was awarded a Doctorate of Arts in Music. He was previously appointed as the Conductor of Kaohsiung City Chinese Orchestra. In 2008, he was awarded the Outstanding Alumni Award by the National Taiwan University of Arts. In 2010, he received a Medal for Conductorship by the Chinese Writers & Artists’ Association. Ku Pao-wen has often been invited to conduct in various professional orchestras in Hong Kong, Singapore, China and Taiwan, and is well acclaimed by music lovers. In 2011, he was appointed as the Guest Conductor-in-Resident of Anhui Symphony Orchestra and China Anhui Traditional Orchestra.

In this concert, Ku Pao-wen will lead the SCO in the Kaohsiung Literature Award winning composition, Expressions of Taiwan by renowned composer Kuan Nai-chung. Experience the bustling night scene of Taipei and culture of Taiwan through the three movements of this piece. SCO’s zhonghu principal, Tian Xiao, will perform Chung Yiu Kwong’s Erhu Concerto. This piece was composed for the International Erhu Competition organized by the Taipei Chinese Orchestra in 2008, its main melody was adapted from modern Peking opera Sunlight After Snowfall. SCO will also perform Sui Li Jun’s Guandong Overture and Liu Wen Jin’s famous Ambush from All Sides. Ambush from All Sides is a symphonic poem adopted the source material from an ancient pipa solo piece of the same title, which vividly depicts the fierce fighting scenes in the ancient battle field.

Tian Xiao started learning erhu at the age of five, under the tutelage of Cao Yuan Long. In 2001, he was admitted to the Shanghai Conservatory of Music, under the tutelage of Professor Huo Yong Gang. In school, Tian Xiao was also the concertmaster and sectional leader of the Shanghai Youth Folk Orchestra. He has received the award for excellent in 2002 Peking “Dragon Cup” International Erhu Competition, first prize in Shanghai Conservatory of Music “Dragon Cup” Competition for Chinese Musical Instruments, and National People’s Scholarship Professional Excellence Award. He joined SCO since 2006 and is currently the zhonghu principal.

Conductor: Ku Pao-wen   Huqin: Tian Xiao

Concert details:

Treasures of Taiwan
Date: 22 & 23 March 2013 (Friday & Saturday)
Time: 8pm
Venue: SCO Concert Hall
Ticket Prices: $55, $45, $35/$19*, $25/$14*

Tickets from SISTIC
*Concession prices

Please contact Media Officers for more information, photographs and interviews.

Media Contacts:

Pang Ze Shuen
Executive (Marketing Communications)
DID: 6557 4037 / 8404 1944

Toi Liang Shing
Executive (Marketing Communications)
DID: 6557 4020 / 9620 8280