Singapore Chinese Orchestra presents an evening of golden classics in Unforgettable Tunes II

Singapore, 4 August 2015 (Tuesday) – After the successful debut of Unforgettable Tunes in 2014, Singapore Chinese Orchestra (SCO) presents another line-up of timeless Chinese orchestra repertoire in Unforgettable Tunes II. Conducted by SCO Assistant Conductor Moses Gay, featuring SCO pipa musician Zhang Yin and erhu musician Tan Man Man, this one-night-only concert will be held on 22 August 2015, 8pm, at SCO Concert Hall.

Distinguished Chinese composer Tang Jian Ping’s Overture for the New Century, based on the well-known piece Dancing of Golden Snake will kickstart the concert. Composed in year 2000, it portrays the excitement and anticipation of people as they enter into a new millennium. The orchestra will also perform Liu Wen Jin’s world-renowned piece, Great Wall Capriccio. The inspiration came from Liu Wen Jin’s visit to the New York’s United Nations Building in 1978. He felt an immense sense of pride when he saw a tapestry of the Great Wall of China on display, which was a testimony to China’s progress in the international arena. The Great Wall of China is one of the most remarkable architecture built in China and this piece serves to portray the resilience and determination of the Chinese in defending and building their homeland during historical times. The Moon on High, an ancient tune arranged by Peng Xiu Wen, is one of the most representative works among Chinese orchestra pieces which revolves around the theme of moon.

Chen Ning-chi’s Romance of Ancient Capital Xi’an will transport the audience to the ancient city of Xi’an to witness the rise and fall of the former capital through the passage of time. This sentimental piece expresses the feelings of regret in the passing of time and that the past could be only preserved in our memories. The General’s Command, a celebrated piece which originated from the Tang Dynasty and rearranged by Gu Guan Ren, illustrates the soldiers’ imposing aura  and courage as they march to battle.

Young Chinese composer Wang Dan Hong’s Thoughts of Clouds and Flowers which was inspired by a segment of a popular Tang dynasty romance will be performed by pipa musician Zhang Yin. Erhu musician Tan Man Man will bring on a rendition Wang Jian Min’s Second Erhu Rhapsody, a piece with strong Hunan influence in its composition. This is one concert Chinese music fans should not miss!

22 aug
Conductor: Moses Gay       Pipa: Zhang Yin               Erhu: Tan Man Man

Concert details:

Unforgettable Tunes II
Date: 22 August 2015 (Saturday)
Time: 8pm
Venue: SCO Concert Hall
Ticket prices: $70, $60, $45/$30*, $30/$20* (exclude SISTIC fee)
Tickets from SISTIC
*Concession prices

Please contact media officers for more information, photographs and interviews.

Media Contacts
Toh Wei Lin
Executive (Marketing Communications)
DID: 6557 4037 / 8121 6966

Toi Liang Shing
Executive (Marketing Communications)
DID: 6557 4020 / 9620 8280

Micky Foo
Manager (Business Development)
DID: 6557 4045 / 8154 6349