彭天祥

彭天祥是本地著名笛子演奏家。1983年加入人民协会华乐团,现为新加坡华乐团笛子演奏家。曾先后到过马来西亚、日本、泰国、美国、德国、中国、香港等地演出。

彭天祥于1986年受邀参加香港青年音乐营演出。1989年在新加坡艺术节与中国笛子大师俞逊发合作演出笛子二重奏,深获好评。同年在新加坡国家剧场信托局举办的民族管乐独奏会上呈献独奏。1991受邀到马来西亚吉打州,在马来西亚第二届全国中学华乐比赛大会上担任客卿独奏。1992年受邀到砂劳越,在华乐音乐营举办笛子讲座。同年也随吉丰华乐团到泰国参加泰皇后60大寿庆典,担任笛子独奏。彭天祥也于1998年随新加坡华乐团到中国三大城市:北京、上海及厦门巡回演出。并于2000年2月份随新加坡华乐团到台北,台中演出。

彭天祥于1993年荣获新加坡艺术理事会奖学金,并到上海音乐学院进修多项课程,师从笛子大师俞逊发。同时在上海音乐学院六十周年纪念音乐会中与上海电影乐团合作,担任客卿独奏。1994年随人民协会华乐团小组到德国演出。同年随吉丰华乐团到香港与香港爱乐中乐团合作演出,并以一首笛子协奏曲《鹰之恋》受到香港各报章的好评。

彭天祥现任多间中、小学、民众联络所、俱乐部及新加坡南洋理工大学华乐团的指导员。彭天祥的名字被收录在南京大学出版社的中国箫笛一书里。

Phang Thean Siong

Phang Thean Siong is a talented dizi artiste in Singapore. He joined the People’s Association Chinese Orchestra in 1983 and is currently a dizi musician with the Singapore Chinese Orchestra (SCO). He has performed in countries like Malaysia, Japan, Thailand, America, Germany, China and Hong Kong.

He was invited to perform at the Hong Kong Youth Music Camp in 1986. In 1988, he performed with the renowned dizi maestro Yu Xun Fa at the Singapore Arts Festival and was well received by many. In the same year, he also performed as a soloist in the Chinese Woodwind Solo Concert organised by the Singapore National Theatre Trust board. He was invited to perform as a soloist in the Malaysia 2nd National Secondary School Chinese Music Competition in 1991. In 1992, he conducted talks on dizi at the Sarawak Chinese Orchestra Music Camp. In the same year, he performed with the Keat Hong Chinese Orchestra in Thailand at the birthday celebrations of the Thailand queen. In 1998, he performed in Beijing, Shanghai and Xiamen with the SCO in their China Concert Tour and in 2000, in Taipei and Taichung with the SCO.

Phang Thean Siong was awarded a scholarship by the Singapore National Arts Council in 1993. He studied at the Shanghai Conservatory of Music under the tutelage of Maestro Yu Xun Fa. He also performed in the Sixty Anniversary Celebrations of the Conservatory with the Shanghai Movie Orchestra as its guest soloist. Phang Thean Siong performed the dizi concerto Love for the Eagle with the Keat Hong Chinese Orchestra and the Hong Kong Music Lover Chinese Orchestra in Hong Kong in 1994 and received great reviews from various Hong Kong newspapers.

Phang Thean Siong is currently the instructor for many Chinese orchestras in primary and secondary schools, community centres and clubs as well as Nanyang Technological University. His name was recorded in China Xiao and Dizi, published by the Nanjing University Press.