Eric Watson’s World of Chinese Music

3 November 2017 (Fri)
8 pm
Singapore Chinese Cultural Centre Auditorium

Conductor: Tsung Yeh
Drums: Jatinder Singh Bedi
Recitation: Lim Kay Tong
Sanxian: Huang Guifang

Sea – Source of Life
Sanxian Concerto: The Nanyang Gate (World Premiere)
Mahjong Kakis
Concerto for Tabla and Orchestra:
Dialogue for Solo Tabla and Chinese Orchestra
Tapestries: Time Dances
Orchestra with Narration: An Independent Note
The Ceilidh

SCO composer-in-residence, Eric Watson, has composed an oeuvre of orchestral pieces, and is one of the pioneer composers who incubated Nanyang music for the Chinese orchestra. This concert will present a selection of his compositions from Dialogue for Solo Tabla and Chinese Orchestra, which is a successful cross-cultural exploration featuring tabla performer Jatinder Singh Bedi. Veteran actor Lim Kay Tong will take centre stage in Eric Watson’s An Independent Note, a significant work commemorating a historic part of Singapore’s history during independence, The Ceilidh, Sea – Source of Life and Mahjong Kakis and Tapestries: Time Dances, which was awarded the first prize at the inaugural Singapore International Competition for Chinese Orchestral Composition 2006. Eric Watson’s new sanxian concerto, The Nanyang Gate, will also be world premiered by SCO musician Huang Guifang.

Ticket Pricing (Excludes Booking Fee): S$70, S$50, S$30