Zhang Guoyong and SCO

18 Aug 2018 (Sat)


SCO Concert Hall

Conductor: Zhang Guoyong

Erhu: Zhu Lin

Cello: Xu Zhong

Guanzi: Han Lei

Guo Feng / Zhao Jiping

Guanzi Concerto: The Silk Road Fantasia Suite / Zhao Jiping

Erhu and Cello Concerto: Double Concerto – Moments (World Premiere) / Qi Haodi

A Glimpse of Singapore / Gu Guan Ren

Discover the flavours of Chinese heritage with Zhang Guoyong, China’s renowned Conductor and Head of the Conducting Department at the Shanghai Conservatory of Music. Renowned for his accurate conducting style, he will perform the world premiere of double concerto Moments composed by Chinese composer Qi Haodi, alongside SCO’s Erhu II Principal Zhu Lin and Cello Principal Xu Zhong. The works of acclaimed Chinese composer Zhao Jiping resonate with many. SCO guanzi musician, Han Lei, will perform one of Zhao Jiping’s signature work – guanzi concerto The Silk Road Fantasia Suite. Guo Feng is one of Zhao Jiping’s most influential recent works, which is inspired by Three Variations of Plum Blossoms. Renowned composer Gu Guan Ren composed A Glimpse of Singapore capturing his emotions and vivid descriptions of sceneries observed during his trips to Singapore in 1987.


Ticket Prices: (before SISTIC fees): $88, $68, $58, $38/$25*, $20**

 *Concession Price

**Restricted View Seats

SCO_Music Tapas Logo_r3
Enjoy a refreshing pre-concert performance – the perfect music appetiser before SCO concert!

Performing group: StringWerks
Date: 18 August 2018
Time: 7pm – 7.45pm
Venue: Singapore Conference Hall, L1 concourse
Admission is free.