Eternal Blossoming of the Red Flowers

8 Jun 2019 (Sat)


Venue : Esplanade Concert Hall


Conductor Tsung Yeh

Composer Wang Danhong

Suona Wang Zhanzhan

Banhu Shen Cheng

Storyteller Gao Yongyuan

Folk Singer Su Wen

Shaanbei Suona & ChanghaoMizhi Wind Percussion Ensemble


Shanbei Suona/Changhao and Orchestra: Rambling in the Sky

First Movement: Battle of the Drums at Hukou

Vocal and Orchestra: Second Movement: Praying for Rain

Third MovementThe Multi-Coloured Residence

Shanbei Storytelling and Orchestra: Fourth MovementGusty Winds

Banhu and Orchestra: Fifth MovementThe Porter

Suona Concerto: Sixth MovementSkygazing

Shanbei Suona/Changhao and Orchestra: Finale: Eternal Blossoming of the Red Flowers


Located thousands of miles away, the Loess Plateau possesses an indescribable charm. The high-spirited and sostenuto nature of Shaanbei folk music reflects its rich, rustic sentiments and simplistic lifestyle. 2018-19’s season closing will feature Eternal Blooming of the Red Flowers, written by acclaimed Chinese female composer Wang Danhong. China’s celebrated banhu master Shen Cheng, young suona virtuoso Wang Zhanzhan, Shaanbei’s Intangible Cultural Heritage Representative Successor for Storytelling Gao Yongyuan, folk singer Su Wen and folk artistes from the Mizhi Wind and Percussion Ensemble will deliver an exhilarating experience that promises to tug at your heartstrings.


Ticket Prices: (before SISTIC fees): $108, $88, $68, $48/$30*